The PreferenceMatcher team consists of an academic network of researchers (mainly of political scientists, social pscychologists, computer scientists, and communication specialists) from the University of Zürich, University of Twente, and Cyprus University of Technology. Also listed are academic collaborators from other universities who have been involved in PreferenceMatcher activities.

Academic coordination
Research team
Academic collaborators

Academic coordination

Dr. Fernando Mendez, e-DC, University of Zürich.
PreferenceMatcher Coordinator
Director of the e-Democracy Centre (e-DC) and lecturer at the University of Zürich and ETH Zürich’s MA programme in Comparative and International Studies. [More…]

Prof. Nicolas Tsapatsoulis, Cyprus University of Technology.
Professor at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies, PreferenceMatcher contact at Cyprus University of Technology. [More…]

Dr. Kostas Gemenis, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies.
Senior researcher in quantitative methods at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, PreferenceMatcher contact at the MPIfG. [More…]

Research team

Dr. Vasiliki Triga, Cyprus University of Technology.
Assistant Professor in Social Psychology at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies. [More…]

Dr. Uwe Serdült, University of Zürich.
Managing director of the Centre for Research on Direct Democracy (c2d) and lecturer at the University of Zürich and ETH Zürich’s MA programme in Comparative and International Studies.  [More…]

Dr. Jonathan Wheatley, Oxford Brookes University.
Lecturer in Comparative Politics at Oxford Brookes University.
Jonathan Wheatley holds a PhD in Social and Political Sciences from the European University Institute in Florence. Subsequently, he was Regional Director at the Centre for Democracy in Aarau (Switzerland) with responsibilities for the Commonwealth of Independent States and the Western Balkans region. He is now a lecturer at Oxford Brookes University in Comparative Politics. In addition to publishing a number of scholarly articles, Wheatley has also published a book entitled “Georgia from National Awakening to Rose Revolution: Delayed Transition in the Former Soviet Union” (Ashgate, 2005), an analysis of the political regime in Georgia from 1988 to 2004.
Political regimes and regime change in the former Soviet space; comparative studies in democratisation involving the successor states of the Soviet Union, sub-Saharan Africa and the states of Latin America; the deployment and exploitation of Voting Advice Applications (VAAs); the impact of globalisation on patterns of political competition in Europe.

Dr. Constantinos Djouvas, Cyprus University of Technology.
Teaching Instructor at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies. [More…]

Dr. Ioannis Katakis, University of Nicosia.
Associate Professor at the School of Sciences and Engineering
Department of Computer Science. [More…]

Dr. Roula Nezi, University of Surrey.
Lecturer in Political Science, Department of Politics. [More…]

Dr. Micha Germann, University of Bath.
Prize Fellow in the Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies. [More…]

Dr. Lia-Paschalia Spyridou, Cyprus University of Technology.
Post-Doc researcher at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies. [More…]

Ioannis Despotis, Cyprus University of Technology.
Research assistant at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies.

Dr. Bastiaan Bruinsma, Goethe University Frankfurt.
Research Fellow at the Chair of Political Sciences. [More…]

Vasilis Manavopoulos, Cyprus University of Technology.
Research assistant at the Department of Communication and Internet Studies.

Cláudio Mendonça
Graphic designer for the PreferenceMatcher platforms. [More…]

Academic collaborators

Poland Parliamentary Elections 2015

Dr. Dominika Kasprowicz, Pedagogical University of Krakow

UK General Election 2015

Prof. Tim Bale, Queen Mary University, London
Prof. John Garry, Queen’s University, Belfast

Greece Regional Election 2014

Dr. Iannis Konstantinidis, University of Macedonia
Dr. Vasiliki Georgiadou, Panteion University

Germany Federal Election 2013

Prof. dr. Susumu Shikano, University of Konstanz
Prof. dr. Marius Busemeyer, University of Konstanz
Dr. Martin Elff, University of Konstanz

Bulgaria Parliamentary election 2013

Dr. Anthony Gulubov, New Bulgarian University.
Dr. Borislav Mavrov, European Institute.

Ecuador Presidential election 2013

Prof. Santiago Basabe-Serrano, FLACSO Ecuador.

Basque Country, Catalonia, and Galicia Regional elections 2012

Dr. Javier Ramos-Diaz, (Gred-Emconet) Universitat Pompeu Fabra.
Rosa Navarrete, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid.

Romania Parliamentary election 2012

Dr. Gabriel Bădescu, Universitatea Babeș-Bolyai.
George Jiglău, Universitatea Babeș-Bolyai.
István Gergő Székely, Universitatea Babeș-Bolyai.
Prof. Daniel Bochsler, University of Zürich.

Georgia Parliamentary election 2012

Prof. Ghia Nodia, Ilia State University.

Greece May and June Parliamentary elections 2012

Dr. Aphrodite Baka, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.
Dr. Elias Dinas, University of Nottingham.
Dr. Lia Figgou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

London Mayoral election 2012

Dr. Nick Anstead, London School of Economics.
Dr. Mario Mendez, Queen Mary University London.

Scotland Regional election 2011

Dr. Christopher Carmann, University of Strathclyde.
Prof. James Mitchell, University of Strathclyde.

Peru Presidential election 2011

Prof. Julio Carrion, University of Delaware.
Dr. Patricia Zarate, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos.

Cyprus Parliamentary election 2011

Prof. Kostas Gouliamos, European University Cyprus.

Kerala State elections (India) 2011

Dr. K.M.Sajad Ibrahim, University of Kerala.

Turkey Parliamentary election 2011

Prof. Tanju Tosun, Ege üniversitesi.

Brazil Presidential election 2010

Prof. Cesar Zucco, University of Rutgers.
Dr. Yanina Welp, University of Zurich & University of St. Gallen.
Mr. Clayton M. Cunha Filho, PhD Candidate at the Rio de Janeiro State University (IESP-UERJ).

Greece: Regional elections 2010

Prof. Ioannis Andreadis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.
Prof. Theodoros Chadjipantelis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.